Through The Ages | The Dostillan Hero Draft 2: Part 1/3

Here is the second draft. Zimm’s name is changed to Arthur… Ah… I love that name… ❤

Here it is:

PART 1:

Beginnings

This part contains Alexis Draught-Storm and her brother Arthur trying to find their brother Peter.

It begins when Arthur comes home from school and ends when they are about to journey for a lost brother.

~~~A GIRL AT the age of 12, stood at the edge of the water, it was cold in November.

“It will be fine,” she said. “They will be okay.”

She tried to sound courageous, but the thought of her brother, Peter, falling in the lake. How can there be joy in the world if he is gone.

‘Wish Peter was here,’ she thought ‘He would love to see Arthur back home. But not so much of our Tudor, Ms. Pretabird. That nasty old bird.’

“Alexis!” A voice said. “Look how much you’ve grown! Where is Peter?”

“Arthur, hasn’t Ms. Pretabird told you? I sent a letter to her months ago! He fell into the lake in February! He probably froze to death!”

“There is a chance he lived, he’s a born swimmer, I taught him myself.”

“You always make everything positive. Like the time you placed an anvil-fish in Pretabird’s stew…”

“And said it was good in protein and vitamins.” He interrupted. “It really is! And delicious!!!”

“By the way where is Pretabird?”

“Stayed in Prellville while Mr. Crocket is in town. They lost each other in the Moon Revolution.”

“That was seventy-nine years ago! How old is she?”

“Ninety-two!”

“I can’t even subtract that much!”

“Well, what do we do?”

“Well, we could go home and eat some anvil-fish stew.”

And they laughed all the way home.

To the cottage in the wood.

~~~*~~~

“You know,” Alexis said.”We don’t have androweed, for the stew. Could you grab some from the garden, Arthur?”

“Sure, Alex,” said Arthur,”I will grab some codder,too.”

“No codder, to bitter.”

“Frelliander?”

“To sweet!” Alexis said with disgust. “Just androweed.”

“Okay, Alex.”

“I am a girl, so don’t call me Alex.”

“Sure, Al.”

Alexis shook her head and grinned.

“Whatever, Arty.”

“I am fifteen!!! Have some respect, Alex.”

“You have some respect, you call me a boys name!” Alex pointed the stirring-spoon at Arthur. “Now go get the androweed, like a good boy. And no fussing.”

“Since when are you the boss.”

“Father sent a letter from Dredderland, and said I am in charge.”

“Whatever.” Arthur grunted and headed into the garden.

~~~*~~~

Alexis was just serving out bowls of stew when Arthur burst through the door.

“What took you so long? Alex said.

“The dam broke!!!” Arthur said, with his eyes filled with caution.

“Oh my gosh. Arthur when did this happen?”

“Two hours ago, no time to eat.”

They raced around packing food and clothing.

Then the sound of rushing water filled their ears.

“Alex,” Arthur said.”Grab a board or something.”

They both grabbed a board. Then they ran out the back. Alex looked back and screamed at the sight of a wall of water, twelve feet from the cottage, and ran for her life.

Arthur stumbled and tripped on a rock and threw Alexis his bag of books.

“Go on without me!” He cried. “I can catch up by swimming, you can’t swim that well. GO!!!”

Alex didn’t argue, but shed tears.

“Be careful.” She said. “I love you.” But her voice was barely audible.

She saw the water devour Arthur.

All she cared about was gone.

I am all alone now, she thought. Now I am all alone.

She ran to the Grey mountain where the old witch lives.

 

~~~ARTHUR WAS GONE as far as Alexis knew. She never thought of possibilities.

Trembling in fear, you are,

It seems you won’t get too far,

Feeling far away,

From comfort everyday,

Again and again you plead,

‘Never again will I sing!’

Nor be joyful or fun loving,

You wonder if there is anything.

‘No

I

Won’t

Ever

Again.’”

The song Alexis sang, made the birds and animals stop running to listen.

Then wave then swept over her silently, with a scream she went under.

~~~*~~~

She woke up in a room, that smelt like rosemary, thyme, mint, and other spices, and the saw hanging from the ceilings, an assortment of herbs to onions.

An old lady was humming a tune while, fixing something up, in a bowl, then she burst out singing.

“Goldenrod, roses, violets and lilies.

Makes a little dainty dish,

Set for a girl looking for me.

“She needs my help to run from water,

She scared because it devoured her brother.”

Now this song made Alexis mad.

“Who do you think you…” she started but was interrupted by the old lady.

“I am the ‘old witch’ on the mountain.” She said. “You were looking for me when the water made you land in me garden!”

Alexis was awestruck. She was going to protest, but the old lady stuffed a spoonful of the confection she made in Alexis’ mouth.

“What is this?” Alexis asked curiously. “It is delicious!!!”

“Did you not hear me song?” The old lady answered.”It is just: Goldenrod, roses, violets, and lilies. Makes a dainty dish, Set for a girl looking for me.

“She needs my help…” the witch started singing, but Alexis broke in.

“I get it!” She said. “I get it, you hear?”

“I knew you would say that!” The old lady fussed.    “Let us clean up, shall we?”

“Uh, sure.” Alexis said nervously.

~~~*~~~

After they cleaned up, they sat by a fire, and the old lady started knitting.

“Let us sing a song, shall we?” The witch said rocking back and forth on her rocker.

“Um, sure.” Alexis started. “Only if you don’t sing that song about Goldenrod and roses and stuff!” Alexis added quickly.

“Oh, alright. You first me dear.”

Alexis shuffled her feet nervously, then took a deep breath.

” The lonely night,

Does shine so bright,

As my heart aches,

The world does quake,

For loneliness,

To go away,

I really still,

Am lonely for,

My true love to,

Come ho-me.”

The witch wiped tears from her face.

And continued knitting.

“Who taught you that song?” The old lady wondered.

“My mother taught it to me and mom’s friend taught it to her.” Alexis said.

“But dear,” the old lady started. “Why are you lonely?”

“Both my brothers are gone, and my mother died and my father is away.”

“Your brother is alive deary, I was gonna tell you, but you needed time to…” she was interrupted by Alexis.

“What!!!”

 

~~~WHAT!” ALEXIS SCREAMED. “My brother is alive???”

“Of course,” the old lady said. “Arthur can swim greatly.”

“That is impossi- wait.” Alexis said suspiciously. “How did you know his name?”

“Lucky guess!” The old lady smiled creepily.

“Okay.” Alexis said as she tried to think of a way out of the hut.

“Don’t leave yet!!!” The witch cried softly.

“Please, don’t leave!” She begged and pleaded. And Alexis was sorry for her, but refused to stay.

“I am sorry.” Alexis said, slightly looking over  her shoulder. “I have to journey for my brother.”

“I guess that is final?” The lady looked at Alexis.

Alexis nodded.

“Oh man,” the witch looked depressed. “No tea and glazed rice-cake, then.”

“Wait, what glaze is it?”Alexis asked.

“Rosewater.”

“I’m in!”

They made 4 ½ batches of rice cake, and 4 Liters of tea.

Yes. It is a lot of food, but it is a party! What do you expect when a bunch of hungry-creatures are meeting!

~~~*~~~

After they finished with preparing, these creatures just started walking in. Or more like floating or hovering.

One was made of fire. Another was of water and swam (kind of) through the air.

Another one was stomping and it left dirt wherever it walked, so brooms just swept it up. Magically. With no one using it. Magically.

Then a woman with birch bark skin started talking to Alexis. Apparently, she was one of the few Elementals (yea, elementals) that could speak. She also had branches sticking out of her head, what is her “hair”. Her name was Nature’s-Green. She was kinda snobby, so Alexis excused herself.

She saw a misty person. Well an Elemental, actually. She was about Alexis’ age.

The Elemental spoke to Alexis. Well, in her mind.

‘Hello‘ it said. ‘My name is Airloom-Mist. You can call me Mai.’

‘Cool!’ Alexis said. ‘I am Alexis Draught-Storm. And you can call me Alex.’

Alexis was getting more comfortable with the name Alex.

‘Well,’ Mai started. ‘I want to help you find your brothers.’

~~~PETER IS ALIVE?!?!?!” Alexis tugged her hair.

“Yes, Alex.” Mai said. “He is definitely alive.”

“Wow,” Alex exclaimed. “You can talk!”

“Yes, I am one of the few Elementals that can speak.”

“We should journey soon.” Alex decided.

“Mai and the Old… What is your name?” Asked Alexis.

“Thelma. Thelma Frost.”

“Okay,” Alexis nodded. “Mai and Thelma…”

“Aunt. Call me Aunt,” ‘Aunt’ Thelma corrected.

Alexis rolled her eyes. “Mai and Aunt Thelma. Pack up now and when we are done we shall journey.”

~~~*~~~

“How is Peter alive?” Alex asked.

“He has magic.” Mai said.

“We have decided that you have magic, too.”

Thelma said. “Crystal magic it is.”

“But I don’t get how Peter is alive.” Alex pointed out. “What type of magic does he have?”

“Water magic.” Thelma said.

“Since he has purplish-black hair and only great mages have that type of hair. No one or thing would let him die. Not even the wolves.” Mai said. “And speaking of wolves, they are raising Peter step by step.”

“Why aren’t they eating him?” Alexis said still confused.

“Since his other magic is Animal magic, also known as shape-shifting.”

“Wow.” Alexis said. “What does Arthur have?”

“What is his personality?” Thelma said.

“He is rowdy, disobedient, irresponsible, and…”

Thelma interrupted. “Hmm.”

“…ornery.” Alex finished.

“That explains it!!!” Thelma said.

“Yes.” Mai said. “Yes it does.”

~~~*~~~

“Dragon magic!!!” Alex scoffed. “Seriously!

He is so irresponsible. He doesn’t even believe in magic.”

“He does now.” Thelma said.

Then Arthur walked through the door.

“ARTHUR!!!” Alexis said. “You… you…”

“Yea, whatever.” Arthur said. His boots dripped like crazy.

“When I have a day away from him, I get another one like him.” Alex mumbled staring at Aunt Thelma, and started to scrub the dishes.

“Looks like someone had a party without me.” He said twirling a piece of confetti.

“Yea, because you almost got killed!!!” Alex grumbled.

“Wow, tiger.” Arthur said.

“Where were you!” Alex started crying.

She ran towards him and hugged him.

He looked disgusted, and looked at Thelma for approval. She nodded.

Then Arthur hugged her tight and spun her around.

“I came as soon as I could.” He said. “I came as soon as I could.”

Not as bad as the one before, but still… *shudders* not my best work. Written in 2011-2013. I don’t really know when.

Leave a Reply

