Trials of Apollo, Rick Riordan: Book Review/Rant #2 (Contains Spoilers)

     So a few days ago I got the Trials of Apollo, Book One, at 5:30pm. I read 5 chapters then I had to go at 6pm and I returned at 7:30p. And since I got back (and did some chores) I read the book. And finished it… at 10:30pm. Curse my fast reading!

     Is it just me or are books NEVER long enough? Especially the good ones. And it definitely feels good to read a book I have NEVER read before. I always have to reread books and stuff, but FINALLY!

     So this review contains spoilers (I am posting a NON-SPOILER edition soon), and if you haven’t read it yet DON’T READ AHEAD! I know some people like to be spoiled (*cough cough* Sometimes that is me *cough cough*) but I warned you! :3

     So…. Haikus? L. O. L. Rick Riordan had this thought out, spectacularly! His writing style was slightly altered and made to sound like how Apollo would say/write it. So many crazy descriptions from the very start. 

     So, I’ve gotta say: Out of all the Greek gods, Apollo is my favorite. I know he can be egotistical and a snot sometimes but I think he is cool! 😄 No wait. I quote from PJO, Book Three: “I am so Awesome” was the last line of his Haiku. So that kinda proves the egotistical part.

     Rick did a few things different than I though he would. I was hoping Apollo would take on the alias Lester and pretend to be a demigod and be secretive, but now that I have read it, Apollo would have NEVER done that. 

     Once again, Rick has OUT DONE EVERYTHING POSSIBLE! He has made fantastic characters and made yet ANOTHER baddie! I NEVER really would have thought of Nero until they mentioned the Emperors of Rome. Then I thought of the BIGGEST, BADDEST OF ALL! Nero. I never imagined Nero to look like that. I always thought in my mind he looked like this:

hqdefault (1).jpg

     Stupid Story Keepers 😄

     And another thing about Rick Riordan is that every time I read one of his books, I learn something new about writing. I see a sentence and I am like, “That is acceptable? I will keep that in mind”. So he teaches me WHILE i read his awesomeness!

     And the part that made me fangirl. I will say one word:

     Leo.

     THE MCSHIZZLE IS BACK! Mr. Valdez the flaming BAD BOY SUPREME! (FYI, to make this all clear, I AM NOT SOO OBSESSED WITH THE CHARACTER THAT I MADE A SANDWICH CALLED THE BAD BOY SUPREME… Okay maybe I did, but that is not important. PEANUT BUTTER, HONEY, BANANAAAA!

     Leo Valdez is my favorite character. In almost EVERY fandom, I have my fictional crush, but LEO BEATS DEM ALL! Horace/Gilan from Rangers Apprentice (I can’t choose), Sokka from Avatar: The Last Airbender, Nova from Ultimate Spiderman, FLASH, KIDFLASH! And Suni if you are reading this… Don’t bring any of those things you always mention to me up! jk. Do it if you want. I AM STRONG NOW THAT LEO IS BACK! Team Leo FTW!

     And Calypso is there. She is actually a good ship to Leo. I know that I can’t have him cuz he ain’t real, but Caleo is really good. Calypso is adorable! She is sassy, strong-willed and kind of reminds me of my lil sister. In someways. Especially that she (MAJOR SPOILER: Wore a Pink Snow Jacket SPOILER END) Okay that spoiler was not a major spoiler I lied, XD.

     And thanks, Rick! You bring these Greek Myths to life in a very good manner. I love your writing style!

Here is my review:

The Book was so good,
I wish there was more right now,
Love it, Rick, My man!

I rate it 9/10 stars!

That’s all for now,

~AGGIE F. KOPP

Leave a Reply

