Through The Ages: TDH: Draft 3, Part 2/2

Here is the second part to Draft 3:

Chapter Two

~~~Arthur~~~

I was walking around my hometown, Arenville, when I everyone crowded around the newspaper stand.

Must be a popular topic.  I thought. Why else would everyone crowd around Phillans’s stand.

I walked up to the stand.

I pushed through the crowd and found my way to Phillan.

I saw him grabbing the coins on the counter, and passing some newspapers to customers. He then scanned the crowd, spotting me.

“Ah! Me boy! Aren’t ya color to sore eyes, me lad!” He said, throwing me an apron. “Come ‘elp me in the stall, while I be puttin’ this money in the ole’ bank.”

I looked at the apron in my hands. “But sir, I have to get to Alexis.”

“I’ll let ya git ‘alf the profit, me lad.”

“Deal.” I grinned and nodded, and he walked off.

I put the apron on, fumbling with the strings.

I grabbed the newspaper.

Almerland Times

Goblin’s Attack!

Goblin’s are heading to the West Coast. Including the countries:  Jonai, Syrimin, Panimor and Moonlark.

The Almerland Sentry and the Moonlark Guard are looking more into where they are coming from, and why they are coming.

The Board of Wizards are looked into the matter and said that the goblin’s are coming from either the Dredderlands or Cleroo.
Panimor! I thought. We live in Panimor!

“Achem!” Someone said. It was Amelia. Alexis’ friend.

“Hey Lia!” I said, smirking.

“It’s Amelia!” She said through her teeth.

“Okay, Amy.” I said.

She growled under her breath. Oh how much I loved pestering people.

“Just get me a newspaper.” She said, slamming a coin on the table.

“We are out, we should be getting more in around ten minutes.” I said.

She sighed dramatically. “Devin will never get better…” She mumbled.

“Is Devin okay?” I asked concerned. Devin was one of my best buds.

“He has Vertigo. This time he is seeing hallucinations.” She said, tears in the brink of her eye.

I felt sorry for her. “Here, have my copy. For a doctor go here.” I said circling an address for Dr. Murphy.

“Thank you so much.” She said with tears of joy.

“And tell Alexis I will be late. I have to work late. And Amelia,” I said passing Amelia some silver pieces. “Take these to pay for the Doctor.”

“You called me Amelia!” She beamed.

“No you’re crazy. Now go help your brother.” I said with a twinkle in my eyes. She smiled and ran off.

→ + ←

~~~Alexis~~~

I will kill him when he returns home. I will kill him twice if necessary.

At that I heard the bolt open and a tired Arthur opened the door. After he hung up his apron he walked to our worn rocking chair, and plopped himself down.

I emerged from the shadows, behind him.

“I am sooo gonna kill you.” I said. He turned around, eyes wide.

He jumped up and ran into our room. I heard the click of the lock.

I ran to the door. “Ya know that this is our room, and I would have the extra key?” I said, and pulled out my key.

I heard a muffled drat through the door. I then heard a creaking.

I strained my ear. What is that?

I heard a groaning of wood against wood.

I racked my brain for an idea of what it was.

The window. My eyes widened.

I fumbled with the key to unlock the door.

I found an empty room and an open window.

I sighed and walked to the window. I saw that the tree branch by the window was shaking.

The ones below it were too. I looked above and saw a little of Arthur’s coat. I rolled my eyes. I’ve seen this trick before. He was trying to trick me. Keyword: Trying!

I looked down and saw a six-foot drop.

Chicken-boy, I thought. It’s only six-feet.

I jumped down, and wiped the dust off my dress.

I ran towards the brook.

I looked around for the tree with a hole, five-feet above the ground. I saw a tree stump near the tree, and I ran to it.

I jumped up and jumped into the tree.

It was a confined space, with twigs, leaves and pinecones on the ground. I tried to dodge them, but I lost my balance and hit the wall of the tree.

I heard rustling above. I saw Arthur’s face appear in the trapdoor above. I pressed myself against the tree and bit my lip.

He didn’t see me.

I sighed with relief.

I grabbed a pinecone and stealthily climbed the ladder.

When I reached the top, I was astounded.

It was a treehouse! It had books all over the floor. History, Folklore, World Maps, World Culture and even a Bestiary.

I grasped my pinecone and tossed it slightly.

“About killing you,” I said. Arthur turned wide-eyed.

“How did you-” Arthur asked confused.

“You should be quieter when you try to sneak out.” I smirked, and threw the pinecone at his head.

“Ow…” He said rubbing his head.

“Baby…” I muttered under my breath.

He was about to say something, but it was interrupted by me shushing him. I indicated I was trying to listen.

I heard hoofbeats. They were coming fast and uneven.

I indicated to the trapdoor. Arthur nodded and followed me to the door.

After we climbed down the ladder I peeked out of the Broken tree.

I saw a horse coming our way. It’s rider was wearing a burgundy cloak.

When it reached us the figure fell of it’s horse. I ran over to the figure and pulled down it’s hood.  It revealed a young girl’s face.

She opened her eyes. “Your brother.” She struggled out. “He lives.”

Chapter Three

~~~Alexis~~~

Arthur helped me pick her up. I didn’t know what she meant by “Your brother is alive” thing. Arthur is obviously right here. She could mean Peter- no. It couldn’t be. I sighed and adjusted my grip.

When we reached the house, I kicked open the door. I struggled to get her to our room before my arms were completely useless.

When I reached the bed and put her in the bed. Arthur pulled up a chair and sat staring at her.

“Arthur?” I asked.

“Uh huh?” He said, still staring at her.

“What are you doing?”

“Waiting for answers.”

“Leave her in peace.” I said.

He looked up at me and rolled his eyes. I sighed and walked out.

It’s nearly impossible to move a teenager boy. I thought, sighing.

I sat on the old rocking chair, thinking about what the mysterious girl said.

I know her from somewhere. I thought. I just don’t know where.

Arthur bursted in.  “She’s awake!” He said.

I jumped up and ran into our room.

She was sitting up. She said something I couldn’t understand.

“What?” I said.

“My satchel.” She said a little louder.

I rushed over and grabbed it. I picked it up but almost dropped it, due to the weight.

What’s in that thing? I thought.

After I hauled it over to her, she opened it up. She took out a map and a quill pen. A Falcon’s feather quill, by the look of it.

She drew an “X” where we are and a circle in an area 10 miles above Arinville, where we live.

She pointed to the circle. “That’s where Peter is.” She said.

“Wow, wow, wow.” Arthur saad waving his hands. “Back up! Do we know you? How do you know about Peter, or where we were?”

The girl sighed. “Do you recall being slammed into a tree by a girl, and she tried saving your brother?”

We nodded.
“That’s me.” She said. I gasped and Arthur opened his mouth to speak, but closed it. He kept on doing it, so he looked like a fish.

“Well I knew I recognized you from somewhere.” I smiled. “So, Peter is a good 10 miles away from us.

“Well, that’s where he was last time I checked.” She said. I think her name was Dayna.

“What do you mean, ‘Last time’.” Arthur said, scowling at her.

She sighed again. “ He’s moving. Well, heading Northeast.”

“So he’s more than 10 miles.” I said, and looked down at my hands.

“Yes. He’s drifting off fast.” She nodded. “He must have some transportation or he runs really fast, without slowing down.”

“So are we leaving or what?” Arthur said, grabbing something out from under his bed. He was holding a bag.

“Why do you have fully filled bags under your bed?” I asked, and crossed my arms. He sheepishly rubbed the back of his neck. I tapped my foot. His shoulders sagged.

“I was going to go look for Pa in the future, but Peter is my first priority.” He said.

My eyes softened and my arms uncrossed.

“Oh, Arthur that’s really sweet!” I said. “But you’re missing one bag. If you went, I would go too.” He smiled at this.

Dayna just looked at us back and forth. She shrugged.

“Okay, let’s go!” Dayna said and got up, yet she failed and fell down on her butt.

Arthur helped her up. She flushed with embarrassment.

“I’m sorry about that.” She said, dusting her skirt off. “I guess I haven’t fully healed. Twan!” she casted a spell, and her face colored a bit more.

“Ah.” She sighed with relief. “I feel much better.”

“How did you do that?” Arthur asked amazed.

“Do what? This?” She said, and put her palm out. “Jadfrell!” Blue, purple and red sparks flew from her palm.

“Magic. Yes. How do you do it?” Arthur asked.

“I dunno. Comes naturally, I guess.” She shrugged. “Don’t you know? You have magic.”

“WHAT?” Arthur and I said in unison.

“Oh, you don’t know yet, do you?” She said, and rubbed her neck sheepishly.
So many crazy things happened that day. Yet it was the beginning of an adventure.

Ugh, Alexis is such a– jerk… She is not like this in the latest draft fyi. More emotional, but on the new draft I’m fixing her up to be the best Alexis yet! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

